Munmun De Choudhury is an assistant professor in the School of Interactive Computing at Georgia Tech, where she directs the Social Dynamics and Wellbeing Lab. Dr. De Choudhury’s research interests lie at the intersection of machine learning, social media, and health. She is best known for laying the foundation of a new line of research focusing on assessing, understanding, and improving personal and societal mental health from online social interactions.

Postdocs and Research Scientists (Current)

DaeJin Choi is a research scientist working on a collaboration with the CDC wherein he is building machine learning techniques on ensemble data (social media and syndromic surveillance data) to predict nationwide suicide rates.

PhD Students (Current)

Stevie Chancellor is a 5th year HCC PhD student working on employing computational techniques to understand deviant mental health behaviors online, such as those relating to pro-eating disorder and opioid use disorder.



Vedant Das Swain, coadvised with Dr. Gregory Abowd, is a 1st year CS PhD student working at the intersection of ubiquitous and social computing, with the goal of designing socially-aware context sensing and modeling approaches that can provide comprehensive insights into individual and community behaviors and wellbeing. 


Sindhu Kiranmai Ernala is a 3rd year CS PhD student working on employing machine learning to examine and use social media as an interventional platform for mental health and thereby to improve patient-centric and clinical outcomes.


Koustuv Saha is a 3rd year CS PhD student working on developing computational and causal approaches to infer the wellbeing of situated communities (such as college students and corporate employees) with social media and other complementary multisensor data.


Dong Whi Yoo, coadvised with Dr. Gregory Abowd, is a 1st year HCC PhD student working on conceptualizing and designing new interactive technologies to enable mental health patients and clinicians to integrate patient-contributed data-derived insights into evidence based collaborative decision-making.

Masters Students (Current)

Kelsie Belan (MS HCI)

Jayant Jain (MS CS)

Manikanta D. Reddy  (MS CS)

Benjamin Sugar (MS Digital Media)

Domino Weir (MS CS)

Asra Yousuf (MS CSE)

Undergraduate Students (Current)

Tahirah Ahmad

Sang Chan Kim

Chaitanya Konjeti

Hemang Rajvanshy

Jordan Taylor

Michael Xiao


Akshay Agarwal (MS CS)
Sudeep Agarwal (BS CS)
William Agnew (BS Math)
Sairam Balani (MS CS)
Fred Bane (MS CS)
Lawrence Chan (MS HCI)
Cheryl Huimin Cheong (MS HCI)
Ishita Chordia (MS CS)
Subhajit Das (MS CS)
Shantanu Uday Deshpande (MS CS)
Amelia Glaese (MS CS)
Naman Goyal (MS CS)
Andrea Hu (BS CS; MS CS)
Sonal Jain (MS CS)
Koushik Krishnan (BS CS)
Mrinal Kumar (MS CS)
Tristan Labetoulle (MS CS)
Paul Lazarus (MS HCI)
Michael Lin (BS CS)
Zhiyuan (Jerry) Lin (BS CS)
Jennifer Ma (MS CS)
Raksha Muthukumar (BS CS)
Gina Nguyen (MS HCI)
Oriana Ott (MS HCI)
Biswajyoti Pal (MS CS)
Srinidhi Palwayi (BS CS)
Amol Parikh (MS CS)
Prajwal Rajendra Prasad (MS CS)
Sanket Sharma (MS CS)
Karthik Uppuluri (BS CS)
Piper Vornholt (MS HCI)
Francisco Zampieri (BS CS)